January 9, 2018 KahnMedia


Rolex 24 Pre-Event Fast Facts:

  • Chip Ganassi named Grand Marshal of 2018 Rolex 24.
  • Winning drivers of each class will receive a Rolex Oyster Perpetual Cosmograph Daytona, engraved with “Winner” on the back of the case.
  • Rolex has been the title sponsor of the Rolex 24 since 1992.
  • Two-time FIA Formula One Driver’s World Champion, Fernando Alonso, will be piloting a Ligier JS P217 for United Autosports alongside Hanson, the 2017 Asian Le Mans Series LMP3 champion, and 18-year-old McLaren F1 Test & Reserve driver Norris in the Prototype class.
  • Five-time Rolex 24 winner, Scott Pruett, will be retiring from racing after 2018 Rolex 24 at Daytona.
  • Race start is January 27, 2018 at 2:40PM EST.

Rolex’s connection to Daytona harks back to an even earlier time when Daytona Beach was considered the capital of land speed records in the early 20th century. The long, flat and very firm Daytona Beach played host to 14 land speed records in the early part of the 20th century – five of which were set by Sir Malcolm Campbell, including the fastest official record there of 276mph in 1935 at the wheel of his mighty Bluebird with a Rolex on his wrist. In 1992 Rolex formalized this long-standing association with Daytona and the Speedway becoming the Official Timepiece and Title Sponsor of the 24-hour Daytona classic, further strengthening the link between the race and the Rolex Oyster Perpetual Cosmograph Daytona watch. After 26 years, the brand is now so closely tied to the event that motor sport aficionados simply refer to it as “The Rolex”.